Richmond Township Fire Protection District

Trustee's Regular Meeting

June 8, 2023

The meeting was called to order at 7:04 p.m. at the Richmond Township Fire Protection District, 5601 Hunter Drive, Richmond, Illinois.

Present: L. Jones, J. Marshall, & Mark Miller

Also Present: Chief Prickett, DC Schwind, Carolynn Gaylord, & Attorney Curran

General Public: DC Amore & other members of the department

Larry Jones was sworn in as trustee for another 6-year term.

Four new were present to be sworn in and take their oath. Larry Jones sworn in: Sam Jung, Austin Krummick, Daniel Monty, & Christopher Newton.

Minutes:

~ M. Miller made the motion to accept the regular minutes from May 10, 2023. J. Marshall seconded the motion and was passed by a unanimous voice vote of 3-0, motion carried. ~ M. Miller made the motion to accept the executive session minutes from May 10, 2023, and keep them closed. J. Marshall seconded the motion and was passed by a unanimous voice vote of 3-0, motion carried.

Correspondence:

~ n/a

Treasurer's Report:

 \sim M. Miller made a motion to accept the June FY2024 warrant as presented which includes the checks written between meetings. J. Miller seconded the motion and was passed by a roll call vote of 3-0, the motion carried.

 \sim L. Jones made a motion to approve the May FY2024 financials as presented. M. Miller seconded the motion and was passed by a unanimous roll call vote of 3-0, motion carried.

Unfinished Business:

~ n/a

New Business:

~ n/a

Attorney's Report:

Appointment of officers, attorney, and auditor:

~ J. Marshall made a motion to elect Larry Jones as President, Jay Marshall as Secretary, and Carolynn Gaylord as Treasurer. L. Jones seconded the motion and was passed by a unanimous voice vote of 3-0, motion carried.

~ L. Jones made a motion to appoint Cowlin, Naughton, Curran, and Haznel, P.C. as the district attorney. M. Miller seconded the motion and was passed by a unanimous voice vote of 3-0, motion carried.

 \sim L. Jones made a motion to appoint Eder Casella as auditor. M. Miller seconded the motion and was passed by a unanimous voice vote of 3-0, motion carried.

~Consideration and possible approval of the Ordinance for Establishing an Efficiency Act Committee (2023-4). The committee will include Larry Jones, Jay Marshall, Mark Miller, Chief Jim Prickett, DC Matt Amore, and Bill Foley will make up the committee. L. Jones made a motion to approve the Ordinance for Establishing an Efficiency Act Committee (2023-4). J. Marshall seconded the motion and was passed by a roll call vote of 3-0, the motion carried.

Chief's Report: Complete report attached.

~ McHenry County adopted the 2021 Building code (IRC) Scott Peterson suggests we adopt it also. We will need to amend our current fire code.

 \sim On June 17th the Jacobsen Family Memorial will be held and a tree will be planted in honor of Rich Jacobsen.

~ Chief Prickett provided an updated Mission Statement for the board to approve. J. Marshall made a motion to approve the updated Mission Statement. L. Jones seconded the motion and was passed by unanimous voice vote of 3-0, the motion carried.

~ Tuition Reimbursement Policy; Chief Prickett requested the trustees to remove #1005 & #1006 of the existing policy and include the edits in #1006.3. J. Marshall made a motion to approve the updated Tuition Reimbursement Policy as presented. L. Jones seconded the motion and was passed by a unanimous vote of 3-0, the motion carried.

~ Chief Prickett requested that we initiate a Leave of Absence Policy.

~ Chief Prickett suggests we close the Impact Fee Checking Account and move the funds to the main checking account and split the Impact Fee payments 50/50 between the general and ambulance funds. J. Marshall made a motion to move the Impact Fee Funds into the Main Checking Account and split the deposits 50/50 between the general and ambulance funds. L. Jones seconded the motion and was passed by a roll call vote of 3-0, the motion carried.

~ Chief Prickett requested to split the Memorial Fund 50/50 between the general and ambulance funds. J. Marshall made a motion to approve splitting the Memorial Account Funds 50/50 between the general and ambulance funds going forward. L. Jones seconded the motion and was passed by a roll call vote of 3-0, the motion carried.

~ Chief Prickett inquired with the board of trustees about looking into Investment Reserve Fund. Attorney Curran noted, we are limited to how we can invest funds. It was suggested that Chief Prickett call the bank and see what kind of options we have with them and to also continue to pursue alternative ways to make our money work for us.

~ 3CXIP Phone Service; Chief Prickett asked the board to consider changing our phone service to 3CXIP Phone Service. We currently pay \$174.00/month with Charter. 3CXIP Phone Service is offering a \$330 annual fee and the monthly bill will be based on usage (approximately \$30-\$40/month). Installation by Cutting Edge will cost \$5,376.00. J. Marshall made a motion to approve changing the district's phone service to 3CXIP for the \$330.00 annual fee, \$30-\$40/month and the installation cost of \$5,376.00. L. Jones seconded the motion and was passed by a roll call vote of 3-0, the motion carried.

~ DC Schwind presented to the board a proposal for a new daily staffing model and a request for approval as presented. The board was presented with a matrix for the staffing model. (See meeting packet). The discussion included fairness, budget concerns, expenses, and overtime concerns. He requested that the new day shift staffing model and hourly increases as shown in the matrix take effect on July 1, 2023. J. Marshall made a motion to approve the new daily staffing model which will be implemented on July 1, 2023. L. Jones seconded the motion and was passed by a roll call vote of 3-0, the motion carried.

Other Business:

~ n/a

There was no further business. J. Marshall made a motion to adjourn at 8:23 p.m. L. Jones seconded the motion and was passed by a unanimous voice vote of 3-0, motion carried. Meeting adjourned.

Jay Marshall, Secretary